Átimo, for piano and chamber orchestra (2007)

Pauxy Gentil-Nunes – Átimo, for piano and orchestra (2007)

Brazilian Symphony Orchestra
Marina Spoladore, piano
Luis Gustavo Petri, conductor

The piece talks about the fleetingness of the present moment – the instant, expanded through a large temporal zoom. Microscopic, while full of transformative power and of wandering ideas, sometimes clear and logical, sometimes undefined as a daydream, and sometimes incompatible, chaotic and changeable. The work is built with 17 sonorities, forming a hidden structure that manifests unchanged from start to the end of the workpiece, presented with differents surfaces.